Skip to main content

2023 LuMin Awards – Nominations Open

By May 9, 2023December 28th, 2023No Comments


Dear Colleagues,

Nominations are now open for the 2023 LuMin Awards! Please share widely. Nominations will be received by May 10 for the following awards:

The Sue E. Rothmeyer Advocacy for Campus Ministry Award: Recognizes individuals who faithfully advance the work of campus ministry by amplifying its importance and value to the broader church and society.

The James R. Carr Distinguished Service Award*: Recognizes a LuMin member who demonstrates excellence in ministry, fosters engagement with others, has an adventuresome enthusiasm for travel abroad, and exudes a passion for integrating a wider worldview into their local ministries. (This award includes a $1,500 gift for travel.)

The Joseph A. Sittler Award*: Recognizes a LuMin member who has written for the wider church and community from the perspective of campus ministry through printed or electronic media. In 1977 he challenged us to write, saying that, “I think that you do not speak back to the church enough, or clearly enough, out of your own extraordinary experience. I trust that you will become more articulate, perceptive, and ardent constructive critics within the church.”

The Philip N. Knutson Award for Creativity or Risk-Taking*: Recognizes either creativity or risk-taking in campus ministry. LuMin members who demonstrate a love of the arts, an ability to incorporate the arts into ministry, and/or an ability to name and affirm the creative gifts of others match the spirit of this award. Alternately, a LuMin members who have demonstrated the ability to take risks in ministry, to speak publicly on controversial issues of importance, and/or challenge the church through advocacy for the marginalized also match the spirit of this award.

Rookie of the Year Award*: Awarded to a LuMin member who is in their first 3 years of campus ministry, who has exhibited excellence in ministry.

*Only current LuMin members will be considered for starred awards.

Nomination form:

The LuMin Board

Mack Patrick

Author Mack Patrick

More posts by Mack Patrick