Lutheran Campus Ministry Annual Award Nomination

Nominations are Open for the 2024 LuMin Awards!
You are invited to nominate campus ministry practitioners for the seven awards given each year at the LuMin Staff Conference. This year marks the introduction of a new award for superb collegiality, created in memory of Don Romsa. Nominations are welcome from campus pastors and ministers, campus ministry organization participants or board members, and the general public.
Nominations can be made through the LuMin Award Nomination Form.
The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, May 15, 2024.

James Carr Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1983 to honor campus ministers who demonstrate excellence in ministry, foster engagement with others, have an adventuresome enthusiasm for travel abroad, and exude a passion for integrating a wider worldview into their local ministries. In 1999, the Distinguished Service Award was named in honor of Jim Carr, the Executive Director for Campus Ministry, who received the award that year. The recipient of this award receives a cash prize that is intended as a monetary stipend for travel expenses.

Hess-Pierson Award for Dedication to the Lutheran Student Movement
The Hess-Pierson Award was established to honor Rhonda Hess and Roy Pierson, two students who served as volunteers in campus ministry in California and who died in an automobile accident while driving to a LSM retreat in 1985. It is given annually to a campus ministry who shows exemplary dedication to the Lutheran Student Movement. Nominations from the Hess-Pierson award come only from current student participants in LSM, and students may not nominate their own campus minister.

Philip N. Knutson Award for Creativity or Risk Taking
The Knutson Award for Creativity and Risk-Taking is named for Philip N. Knutson (1937-1994), a tremendous supporter, contributor, and influence in the Lutheran Campus Ministry world. During his tenure in campus ministry, Phil came to be known for a number of things, among them his creativity and his willingness to take risks. The Philip N. Knutson Award for Creativity or Risk-Taking lifts up either creativity or risk-taking in campus ministry. Campus Pastors and Ministers who demonstrate a love of the arts, an ability to incorporate the arts into ministry, and/or an ability to name and affirm the creative gifts of others match the spirit of this award. Alternately, Campus Pastors or Ministers who have demonstrated the ability to take risks in ministry, to speak publicly on controversial issues of importance, and/or challenge the church through advocacy for the marginalized also match the spirit of this award.

Don Romsa Award for Superb Collegiality
The Don Romsa Award for Outstanding Collegiality honors a campus pastor or minister who has offered colleagues encouragement, grace, and a reassurance of the importance and impact of campus ministry. The award is named for Don Romsa (1947-2023) who served as Campus Pastor at California State University at Fresno and as Program Director for Campus Ministry in the ELCA, during which he was integral to the formation of the LuMin professional network. One campus minister remarked of Don’s service: “Through stories and perspective, he would help us remember why we are here and why we do what we do. He often helped me remember my own passion and value in this work, and he has helped me to keep me going through the years.”

Sue E. Rothmeyer Advocacy for Campus Ministry Award
The Sue E. Rothmeyer Advocacy for Campus Ministry Award was established in 2017 to recognize individuals who faithfully advance the work of campus ministry by amplifying its importance and value to the broader church and society. Sue Rothmeyer has long been a strong advocate for Lutheran Campus Ministry. She was a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison where her Campus Pastor was Phil Knutson. Her professional service began when she served as Campus Minister at Iowa State University from 1984 to 1995. Sue joined the ELCA Churchwide office in 1995 and has served in various roles relating to Young Adult and Campus Ministry.

Joseph A. Sittler Award for Excellence in Writing
The Joseph A. Sittler Award recognizes those Campus Pastors and Campus Ministers who have written for the wider church and community from the perspective of campus ministry through printed or electronic media.  In 1977 he observed that campus ministry is conducted “on the frontier of the church’s life in the culture” and challenged Campus Pastors and Ministers to write, saying: “I think that you do not speak back to the church enough, or clearly enough, out of your own extraordinary experience. . . . I trust that you will become more articulate, perceptive, and ardent constructive critics within the church.” The award is named for Dr. Joseph Sittler (1904-1987), a Lutheran theologian who taught at the Divinity School of the University of Chicago and the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago.

Rookie of the Year Award
The Rookie of the Year award is awarded to a LuMin member who is in their first three years of professional campus ministry, who has exhibited excellence in campus ministry.

Link to the Nomination Form